

## LEIBNIZ SOCIETY OF SCIENCES TO BERLIN E.V.

Founded 1700 as Brandenburg Society of Sciences The Leibniz Society of Sciences to Berlin E.V. is an association of eminentscholars in the natural, social and engineering sciences, and the arts and humanities. Its traditions and its membership go back to the Kurfürstlich-Brandenburgische Societät der Wissenschaften (the later Brandenburg Society of Sciences), founded in 1700 and to its intellectual "father" and first president, Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz (1646-1716). It is thus one of the oldest academic institutions in Germany.

Historically, since the foundation of the Brandenburg Society of Sciences, the Leibniz Society has existed continuously over three centuries with secret-ballot election of new members and is based on their scientific activities and achievements.

The Leibniz Society builds on the independent research of its members and offers them a forum for scholarly exchange of opinions and publicity. Its principles include philosophical plurality, inter- and transdisciplinarity, and internationality.

The Leibniz Society has a special status in contemporary academic landscape of Germany particularly Berlin. In its current form the Society emerged from the scholarly society of the Academy of Sciences of the GDR. It was constituted during the unification of Germany.

As a result of the reform process begun in 1989/90, the Leibniz Society developed into academically independent international institution of interdisciplinary scholars. In 1993, it took on the legal form of a registered non-profit organisation.

Mainly membership fees and donations fund the Leibniz Society. It is financially supported by the Berlin State Government (Senate) and projects funded by foundations and other cooperation partners. Its members undertake all scientific organisational on a voluntary and honorary basis.

The most important disciplines of the contemporary academia are represented in the Leibniz Society. The multidisciplinary orientation of a scholar society is used for scholarly discourse and the discussion of current problems in science and society. The academic work of the Leibniz Society is carried out traditionally in the plenary sessions and in its two divisions, the Division of Natural and Engineering Sciences and in Division of Humanities and Social Sciences. Each of them holds a monthly meeting.

Within the framework of the Leibniz Society, there are currently ten working groups dealing with specialised scholarly topics (in particular in the field of education, social analysis, demography, the history of science and academies, the methodology of sciences, geosciences, mining science, environmental science, astrophysics, general technology, emergent systems/information and society).

In recent years, scholarly colloquia and meetings have become a focus of the Society's activities. Many of them were carried out with international participants, for example the conference "Academies in Times of Upheaval" an event celebrating the achievements of Albert Einstein in 2005, events honouring Comenius and Leonhard Euler in 2007, the conference "50 Years of Manned Space Travel", the conference "From Nuclear Stalemate to a Nuclear-Weapon-Free World" that celebrated the 100th birthday of the physicist Klaus Fuchs in 2011, the conference "Energy Transition-Development of the Productive Forces and Social Contract Agreement", the conference "Jean-Jacques Rousseau between Enlightenment and Modernity" on the occasion of his 300th birthday in 2012, the conference "Inclusion and Integration", the conference "From Mineral to Noosphere" on the occasion of the 150th birthday of Vladimir Ivanovič Vernadskij in 2013, and the conference "The

Balkans in the First World War – Majority Interests and Regional Conflicts" (2014) that was organised jointly with the Macedonian Academy of Sciences and Arts.

In contrast to the regional academies in Germany that only admit members from the federal states, the membership of the Leibniz Society includes more than 300 academics from all over Germany and from more than 20 countries worldwide. The Society's statutes prescribe that only persons who have achieve outstanding scholarly achievements in their field can be elected to become members.

Since 2012, the President of the Leibniz Society is the philosopher of technology Gerhard *Banse*. Other members of the presidium are: cultural scientist Dorotheé Röseberg, historian Armin Jähne and educational scientist Bernd Meier as vice presidents; psychologist Heinz-Jürgen Rothe as secretary to the plenary, and financial economist *Ulrich Busch* as treasurer. The honorary president is the philosopher of science Herbert Hörz. The secretary of the natural and engineering sciences-division is the processing engineering scientist Lutz-Günther Fleischer. The secretary of the social sciences and humanities division is the romance studies, cultural and linguistic scientist Hans-Otto Dill. A yearly updated list of members provides information on the members of the Leibniz

Society, which also contains information on the awards and the statutes as well as the publications of the Leibniz Society.

The presentations given at the academic meetings and colloquia of the Leibniz Society are published in the series "Conference Reports of the Leibniz Society". More than 120 volumes have been issued since 1994. As a further series, the Leibniz Society publishes the "Essays of the Leibniz Society", of which more than 40 volumes have been released thus far. Information regarding the Leibniz Society and its work may be found in "Leibniz intern", the online journal "Leibniz-Online" as well as a digitized version of all the seminar reports. All these publications can be found on the Leibniz Society's homepage

>>http://www.leibnizsozietaet.de<<.

The *Leibniz Society of Sciences to Berlin e.V* commemorates the annual anniversary of the birth of Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz on their traditional Leibniz Day. On this occasion, newly elected members are introduced and the Leibniz Society's work conducted during the past year is presented.